Cast in Shadows

The last week in the studio brought a welcome change of pace as we moved on to designing and cutting shadow puppets.

Don’t get me wrong, there is still SO much to do to finish up paint detail and rigging, but at least there was a new concept to refresh our mental energy. It was wonderful to sit with Jan and go through old shadow puppets we could use, and have him show us the techniques for creating images in only black and white.

IMG_20170725_153611372.jpg

Jan’s design that I cut out

Nyssa and I are also on the shadow puppet team for the show itself. At first I kicked myself for it a little bit, since shadow puppeteers were the only ones called for rehearsals Thursday and Friday night, but at this point I’m not sure when I’ll be back, so I’m happy to over-stretch and get as many different experiences as I can.

As with most things, too, it helps me understand the technique of shadow cutting better now that I’ve had to work with the medium.

After all the rehearsals that left me sore and drenched in sweat, it is a welcome change of pace to practice stillness and fine control. Not sure I’m looking forward to pulling it off after a full show, adrenaline pumping, but I think I can tackle the challenge. Gently. With control.

IMG_20170802_155601786.jpgIMG_20170802_131554016.jpg

(Some designs I made and cut myself)

One thought on “Cast in Shadows

Leave a Reply

