Starting rehearsals!

We started rehearsal this past week! And it came at a perfect time. Just as the building threatened to begin to lose momentum, and my enthusiasm paled in the face of struggle, rehearsals reminded me of the beautiful thing we’re striving towards.

The cast is fantastic. Full of open-hearted people looking to play and learn and grow together. Playing theater games and warm ups again was so fun, and I happily fell right back into it. Especially seeing the range of ages, professions, and histories that filled the room, it was a reassurance that this is not something I ever have to grow out of or away from.

Since our show is particularly full of birds, in these first rehearsals we’ve been playing with a lot of flocking exercises. We’ve spent a lot of time following each other around the studio in sweeping groups,

IMG_20170611_163922332.jpg

A FLAMBOYANCE OF FLAMINGOS!

It’s so satisfying to see the puppets we’ve been working on come to life. To hear the non-building cast’s reactions to the puppets and notice how all the little flaws and inconsistencies disappear in the artful hold of a dedicated puppeteer.

I want to be every puppet. There is not a single role I would be unhappy to play (though I can see the physical strain some of these could cause!). There are one or two that I am really pining for, but I’m not setting any expectations.

So far, any expectations I set for this Summer have been blown away anyhow.

Leave a comment